Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Houston Maritime Museum
Harris County
Houston-Galveston Area Council Board of Directors
by Jim Guidry
Wednesday, July 18, 2012

(Attendance information has been added to this report)

Houston-Galveston Area Council Manager of Transportation and Air Quality Programs on Tuesday updated the H-GAC Board of Directors on the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century bill, the new surface transportation legislation which was signed into law by President Barack Obama on July 6.

“Like good transportation people, we now have an acronym for it, MAP-21,” Clark said.  “Unlike the previous bills that we have seen, which generally extended over a five to six year time period, MAP-21 covers 27 months.”

He said the legislation covers the remainder of this fiscal year and the next two years, through FY2014.

“The bill provides a total of about $105 billion for highway and transit funding,” he said

The H-GAC board voted unanimously to authorize staff to execute an agreement with the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality to receive funding not to exceed $3 million to continue the Texas Emission Reduction Program to provide for the replacement and retrofit of heavy duty diesel engines.

The board approved a resolution recognizing August as Commute Solutions Month.  

All other agenda items were approved, with unanimous votes by those present.  Agenda

Colorado County Judge Ty Prause, Galveston County Commissioner Ken Clark, Walker County Commissioner B.J. Gaines, Jr.,  Waller County Commissioner Frank Pokluda, Conroe Council Member Toby Powell, Galveston Council Member Marie Robb (not yet listed as a representative on the H-GAC roster), Huntsville Mayor Mac Woodward, La Porte Council Member Chuck Engelken, Jr., League City Council Member Mick Phalen and Hitchcock Independent School District Trustee Estelle Holmes were absent  and were not represented by alternates.  Missouri City Council Member Bobby Marshall was absent but was represented by Council Member Floyd Emery.

Editor’s Note: Galveston council members Marie Robb and Elizabeth Beeton engaged in an intensive battle for the appointment to the H-GAC Board at last week’s meeting of their city council.  Robb was eventually selected as representative and Beeton as alternate, but neither attended this week’s H-GAC meeting.

Several people addressed the board in opposition to Agenda 21, which they say is a United Nations project related to sustainable development. Listen

“It’s not funny and we need to stop it,” said Thelma Taormina, speaking as the founder of We The People/912 Association.  “All of these international property maintenance codes are part of it.”

BayTran HomeTown Bank
Remembering Jim Guidry Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership M3 Global Medical Missions

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.