Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Houston Maritime Museum
Harris County
Houston-Galveston Area Council Board of Directors
by Garrett Bryce
Tuesday, November 20, 2012

The Houston-Galveston Area Council Board of Directors today voted unanimously to approve appointments to various advisory committees.

The board reappointed Terry Henley, Andy Meyers, Chuck Engelken, Brandon Capetillo and Judge Nate McDonald to the Energy Purchasing Corporation.

The board appointed Jess Koy, Rhonda Lewis, Glinda Tagle and Elfis Cottingham to the Area Local Development Corporation.

The board appointed Mike Luycx, Shankar Chellam, Paula Warren, Richard Brown and Rachel Harris to the Regional Air Quality Planning Committee.

The board appointed Tracy Reid and Alfonso Acosta to the Regional Flood Management Council.

The board issued a resolution honoring the service of former League City Council Member Mick Phalen on his retirement as a member of the H-GAC Board of Directors.  Phalen was not present at the meeting to accept the resolution.

The board voted to authorize a $20.2 million in agreements with recommended entities for the Clean Vehicles Program.  The program is designed to offset the added cost of replacing or retrofitting older, high-emission vehicles with cleaner, low-emission engines.

The board voted to approve a contract with the Texas General Land Office for the Chambers County Round 1 Disaster Recovery Housing Program. The program will total $9,323,250, with funding coming through the Texas General Land Office.  The program will fund the repair or reconstruction of housing for 75 low income households impacted by Hurricane Ike.

The board voted to continue a contract with Pattillo, Brown and Hill for 2012 external audit services.  The annual fee for the contract is $79,375. (Correct)

All items were approved by unanimous vote.  Agenda  (Audio excerpts will be linked to the agenda when they are processed) 

Colorado County Judge Ty Prause, Harris County Judge Ed Emmett and Commissioner Jack Morman, Houston Mayor Annise Parker, Baytown City Council Member Brandon Capetillo, Conroe Council Member Seth Gibson, Deer Park Council Member Thane Harrison, League City Council Member Mick Phalen, Sugar Land Council Member Don Smithers and Iowa Colony Council Member Kay Mudd were absent and not represented by alternate members.

Houston City Council Member Oliver Pennington was represented by Council Member Jerry Davis.

Remembering Jim Guidry Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.