Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Houston-Galveston Area Council Transportation Policy Council
by John David Suayan
Sunday, March 20, 2016

The Houston-Galveston Area Council Transportation Policy Council on Friday voted unanimously to approve its nominating committee’s recommendations for membership in the Regional Safety Council. Listen (1:34)

Committee Chair and Fort Bend County Commissioner James Patterson said there are 25 individuals being recommended. Included in the recommendations are proposed council chair Tim Kelly, who is vice president of operations at METRO, and proposed vice chair Bennie Boles of the La Porte Police Department.

“We will go back and verify to the staff that all are enthusiastic about serving,” said Patterson.

TPC Chair and Brazoria County Judge Matt Sebesta said the list was assembled three weeks ago, thanking the nominating committee and H-GAC staff.

“In three short weeks, it’s a good list of nominees,” said Sebesta.

The policy council voted unanimously to approve amendments to the Technical Advisory Committee bylaws.

These amendments seek to:

  • Include the position of 2nd Vice Chair to the TAC officers, and
  • Amend TAC term limits of the Chair, 1st Vice Chair, and 2nd Vice Chair from one year to a two-year term.

“The reason for these changes is to make sure that the bylaws are consistent with how the committee currently operates,” said Eulois Cleckley, H-GAC Assistant Director of Transportation Planning. Listen (1:46)

The policy council listened to an update on the Revised Regional Transportation Conformity Finding provided by Dr. Graciela Lubertino, H-GAC Chief Planner.

H-GAC Program Manager David Wurdlow briefed the policy council on the Draft 2017-2020 Transportation Improvement Program.

At the beginning of the meeting, H-GAC Director of Transportation Planning Alan Clark introduced Cynthia Dannenbrink, District Director for United States Congressman John Culberson.

All other agenda items were approved unanimously. Agenda (Includes audio excerpts) Attendance

The next meeting of the Transportation Policy Council is scheduled for April 22 at 9:30 a.m.

Dannenbaum Engineering BayTran
Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.