Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

March 6, 2018 Election Returns
Guidry News Forum
May 6, 2017 Candidate filing continues
by Garrett Bryce
Friday, February 03, 2017

Candidate filing continues for the May 6 election, with candidates filing for various local races in the Upper Texas Gulf Coast Region.

In Brazoria County, Mayor Tom Reid has filed for re-election to remain at the city's helm. Gary Moore has also filed for another term in City Council Position 3.

In Fort Bend County, Sugar Land has four district city council seats with terms expiring. Sean Burnett has filed for election to District 4, currently held by Harish Jajoo. The other seats remain without candidates, to date.

In Galveston County, Bayou Vista has three positions on the ballot, with no filings to date.

In Clear Lake Shores, Mike McNamara has filed to run for mayor, while Christy Lyons has filed to run for one of two at-large positions on the city council.

Dickinson incumbents have filed for re-election to their seats. Mayor Julie Masters, and council members Charles Suderman, Walter Wilson and Louis Decker have terms expiring in May.

Sally Harris Branson has filed for Position 2 on Friendswood's city council, which is currently held by Billy Enochs. John Scott has filed for re-election to Position 5, and drawn one challenger, David O'Farrell.

In Hitchcock, incumbent Mayor Anthony Matranga and commissioners Fard Abdullah and Lee Sander have filed for re-election. David Sendejas has filed to challenge Sander for his seat in District 2.

Jamaica Beach has currently received no candidates for the office of mayor and two at-large city council positions.

Kemah Mayor Carl Joiner has filed for re-election, as have incumbent council members Wanda Zimmer and Robin Collins.

In Harris County, no candidates have filed for mayor, which is currently held by Jerry Mouton, Jr. Sherry Garrison, Thane Harrison and Tommy Ginn have filed for re-election to city council.

In La Porte, Dottie Kaminski has filed for re-election to At-Large Position B on the city council, and Danny Earp has also filed for another term in District 1. Ronald Nowetner has filed for election to District 6, which is currently held by Mike Clausen.

Pasadena has drawn several candidates for its mayoral race. Pat Van Houte, John “JR” Moon, Gilbert Pena, Robert Talton and Jeff Wagner have filed for the top seat.

Daniel Vela has filed for District A, while Bruce Leamon has filed for re-election to District B, and has a challenger, Steve Halvorsen. Don Harrison has filed for District C, and Sammy Casados and Cody Ray Wheeler have filed for District D and District E, respectively.

Phil Cayten and Larry W. Peacock have filed to run for District F. In District G, Oscar Del Toro, Cary Bass and Allen Munz have so far filed for a place on the ballot. Brad Hance, Thomas Schoenbein and Keith Sargent have filed for District H.

In Seabrook, the mayoral race has two candidates, with Thom Kolupski and Kim Morrell on the ballot. Laura Davis has filed for At-Large Position 2 on the city council, Natalie Picha for Position 4, and O.J. Miller has filed for re-election to Position 6.

Felicia Ramos and incumbent David Jennings have filed for Shoreacres City Council, which has three at-large council positions with terms expiring in May.

Taylor Lake Village Mayor Jon Keeney is seeking another term, and incumbents Doug Blanchard and Einar Goerland have also filed for re-election to city council.

Webster Mayor Donna Rogers will seek another term, as will Council Member Martin Graves.

In Jefferson County, Beaumont Mayor Becky Ames is seeking re-election, and currently has a single challenger, Hani Tohme. City Council incumbents W.L. Pate, Gethrel Williams-Wright, Claude Guidroz, Mike Getz, Audwin Samuel and Robin Mouton have also filed for re-election.

Port Arthur has five positions on the ballot in May. Incumbent Raymond Scott has filed for re-election to District 1, as has Tiffany Hamilton in District 2.

Mark Blanton has filed for District 3. Keith Richard has filed for re-election to District 4, and is challenged by Harold Doucet. Charlotte Moses has filed for re-election to Position 7, and is challenged by Morris Albright, III, who currently holds the District 3 seat. Incumbent Kaprina Richardson Frank has filed for re-election to Position 8, and is challenged by Kevin Christopher.

Filing continues through February 17. Early voting begins April 24 and continues through May 2. For additional races and referendums, visit the Election Page.

Remembering Jim Guidry GRCC Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.