Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Houston Maritime Museum Lakewood Yacht Club
Bay Area Houston
Lakewood Yacht Club
News Release
Monday, March 06, 2017

Lakewood Announces Results of 16th Annual Bay Cup I Regatta

Seabrook, Texas -  Lakewood Yacht Club (LYC) in cooperation with Bay Access hosted the 16th Annual Bay Cup I Regatta Saturday, March 4th. 

This year's regatta had 42 registered boats. Racers dealt with choppy, windy and rainy conditions on Trinity Bay throughout the duration of the race, but nine Lakewood members managed top-four finishes among the five race classes.

2017 Bay Cup I Regatta first-place winners include Houston Yacht Club member Ken Humphries in the PHRF Spin - (Non-Sprit) and LYC members Carl Drechsel in the Cruising Non-Spin Classic Canvas, Gerhard Wittich in the Cruising Poleless Spin, Ash Walker in the PHRF Non-Spin and Uzi Ozeri in the PHRF Spin - Sprit. Complete race results can be found on the LYC website at

A celebratory dinner, party and awards ceremony followed the race in the LYC ballroom. Sailors, spectators and guests enjoyed camaraderie over dinner and drinks and tuned in to live entertainment by Kelly McGuire, an award-winning singer, and songwriter. 

Interested racers should begin preparing for Bay Cup II, the second of this two race series. Overall trophies will be presented at the conclusion of that regatta August 5th.

"Many thanks to the land volunteers, on-the-water volunteers, scorers, protest committee and Lakewood staff for your efforts in planning and executing all of the activities for the Bay Cup I Regatta," said Bay Cup I Race Chair Larry Rogers. "We had another great day on the water, and the sailors enjoyed the festivities on land as well."

The LYC Race Committee also would like to acknowledge the generous sponsors that help make this a great long-distance sailing event include the City of Seabrook, George Ocean Rum, Bay Access, Little Yacht Sales, OJ's Marin, True North Marine, Blackburn Marine, Alliant Marine & Energy Insurance and Davis Marine. 

Sailboat classes eligible to compete in this series include PHRF Spinnaker, PHRF Non-Spin, PHRF under 30 feet, Cruising Poleless Spin, Cruising Non-Spin-Classic Canvas (i.e. Dacron sails), Shorthanded Offshore Sailors, Multihull and One Design Classes. 

For further information about Bay Cup II, please contact LYC at (281) 474-2511 or Larry Rogers, Bay Cup I Regatta Chair at 832-228-7052 or

BayTran Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.