Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
H-GAC Transportation Policy Council
by John David Suayan
Monday, January 29, 2018

The Houston-Galveston Area Council Transportation Policy Council on Friday voted unanimously to approve the TPC Nominating Committee’s recommendations for 2018 policy council officers, an at-large position for Other Transportation Interests, and 16 at-large positions on the H-GAC Technical Advisory Committee.

2018 TPC officers:

  • Chair, Matt Sebesta, Brazoria County Judge
  • First Vice Chair, Ken Clark, Galveston County Commissioner
  • Second Vice Chair, David Robinson, Houston City Council Member
  • Secretary, Tom Reid, Pearland Mayor
  • Past Chair, Ed Emmett, Harris County Judge

Other Transportation Interests on the TPC (1 position):

  • Primary - Janiece Longoria, Commission Chair, Port of Houston Authority
  • Alternate – Phyllis Saathoff, Executive Director/CEO, Port Freeport

16 At-Large Positions on the TAC:

  • Smaller Cities (1 position) 

Primary – Sharon Valiante, City of Fulshear
Alternate – Sereniah Breland, City of Alvin

  • Rural Transit (1 position) 

Primary – Paulette Shelton, Fort Bend County Transit
Alternate – Sueanne Larson, Fort Bend County Transit Grants and Budget Manager 

  • Urban Transit (1 position)

Primary – Ken Fickes, Harris County Office of Transit Service
Alternate – Vernon Chambers, Harris County Office of Transit Service

  • Environmental/Planning (5 positions)

Primary – Theresa Rodriguez, BayTran
Alternate – John Isom, Waller County EDC

Primary – Jeffrey C. Wiley, President Fort Bend EDC
Alternate – Rachelle Kanak, Fort Bend EDC

Primary – Christopher LaRue, The Woodlands Township
Alternate – Don Norrell, The Woodlands Township

Primary – Patrick Walsh, City of Houston Planning
Alternate – Jennifer Ostlind, City of Houston Planning

Primary – Dr. Carol Lewis, TSU
Alternate – Shannon Hicks, City of Webster

  • Citizen & Business Interests (2 positions)

Primary – Auggie Campbell, West Houston Assoc.
Alternate – Irma Sanchez, Westchase District

Primary – Bob Eury, Central Houston Assoc.
Alternate – Thomas E. Farmer, Jr., Private Business Businessman

  • Intermodal Interests (6 positions)

Primary – Bruce Mann, Port Houston
Alternate – Jeremy Phillips, Harris County Pct. 2

Primary – Mike Wilson, Port Freeport
Alternate – Roger Quiroga, Port Galveston

Primary – John Tyler, HCTRA
Alternate – Dale Hillard, HCTRA

Primary – Clark Martinson, Energy Corridor
Alternate – Richard Zientek, Union Pacific Railroad

Primary – Bill Zrioka, Houston Airport System
Alternate – Carlos Ortiz, Houston Airport System

Primary – Dr. James Condrey, Fort Bend County TRA
Alternate – Ernie Stuart, City of Needville

The policy council voted unanimously to appoint the 2018 ex-officio members.

The members are:

  • Brenda Mainwaring, Union Pacific Railroad
    Representing Freight Rail Interests
  • Hugh McCulley, Crady, Jewett & McCulley, LLP
    Representing Freight Rail Interests
  • Sylvia Garcia, Texas State Senator, District 6
    Representing the Texas Senate
  • Ed Thompson, Texas State Representative, District 29
    Representing the Texas House of Representatives
  • Phillip Spenrath, County Judge
    Representing Wharton County
  • Paul Reitz, P.E., District Engineer
    Representing TxDOT’s Yoakum District

The policy council voted unanimously to approve the 2040 Regional Transportation Plan Conformity Plan.

All other agenda items were approved unanimously. The policy council achieved a quorum of 26 members.
Agenda Attendance 

Dannenbaum Engineering BayTran
Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.