Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Jefferson County
Port Arthur City Council
by Garrett Bryce
Thursday, May 10, 2018

Port Arthur City Council on Tuesday voted unanimously to amend the City Charter designating that the District 3 Council Member shall serve as mayor pro tem through May 2019.

Thomas Kinlaw, III, who serves in District 3, will be mayor pro tem for one year, with the position rotating in sequence each year.

The city council voted unanimously to adopt, with amendments, an ordinance including regulations for the proper disposal of tires and the registration of certain tire businesses and tire haulers within the city, providing for a penalty of $50 for each separate offense. The item was amended to increase the penalty to $100 per each offense, which is per tire.

The city council voted unanimously to adopt a resolution nominating Motiva Enterprises, LLC to the Texas Governor's Office of Economic Development and Tourism through the Economic Development Board for designation as a qualified business and enterprise project under the Texas Enterprise Zone Program.

The city council voted unanimously to adopt a resolution nominating The Premcor Refining Group, Inc. as a qualified Enterprise Project under the Teas Enterprise Zone Program.

The city council voted unanimously to adopt a resolution rejecting all requests for qualifications for engineering design and construction management services for the first year of the street program.

The city decided that the request for qualifications package evaluation criteria was incorrect, and recommended rejecting the proposals.

The city council now consists of seven members. District 5, which had been held by Willie “Bae” Lewis, Jr., and District 6, which had been held by Osman Swati, were combined into other districts to reduce the number of total seats. All other items were approved by unanimous vote. Council Member Kaprina Richardson Frank was absent. Agenda

To view a video of the meeting, Click Here

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.