Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
New METRO Board Member Welcomed, Current Chair and Three Others Reappointed
Press Release
Wednesday, July 11, 2018

METROTeresa "Terry" R. Morales is the newest member of the METRO Board of Directors. Morales' appointment by Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner was approved this morning by Houston City Council. METRO Board Chair Carrin Patman and Board members Dr. Lex Frieden, Troi Taylor and Sanjay Ramabhadran were reappointed today as well.

Morales is a Senior Vice President of Amegy Bank in the Corporate Banking Division and a native Houstonian. She is a graduate of the University of Houston as well as Leadership Houston and the Center for Houston’s Future.  Her community activities include serving on the board of Houston/Gulf Coast chapter of the American Leadership Forum (Senior Fellow Class XXXIV).

After the council vote, she thanked the Mayor, friends and colleagues for their support.

"It’s really an honor because I grew up in the East End. Our main mode of transportation was public transportation, so to serve on the METRO Board is such an honor. I look forward to working with all of you as well as the rest of the METRO Board members," Morales said.

She replaces Christof Spieler whose term expired earlier this year. Spieler played an instrumental role in the development of METRO's redesigned local bus network and other transit improvements.

The terms for all five members confirmed today expire in 2020.

Dannenbaum Engineering BayTran
Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.