Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Houston Maritime Museum Lakewood Yacht Club
Bay Area Houston
Results Announced for Bay Cup II Regatta Hosted by Lakewood Yacht Club
News Release
Tuesday, August 07, 2018

Seabrook, Texas: Lakewood Yacht Club (LYC) hosted the 2018 Bay Cup II Regatta Aug. 4th.

LYC had 11 members finish in the top three, along with three taking the win in their class. Skipper Robert Brann took 1st among the J/105s, Jim Demarest won the PHRF Spin (Non-Sprit) class, and LYC's 2018 Commodore Ashley Walker beat out the competition among the PHRF Non-Spin boats. Below are the top finishers in each category.

1st Place / Radiance / Robert Brann / LYC
2nd Place / Infinity / Uzi Ozeri / LYC
3rd Place / Stinger / J B Bednar / LYC

PHRF Spin (Non-Sprit)
1st Place / Sodalis III / Jim Demarest / LYC
2nd Place / Outrageous / Ken Humphries / HYC
3rd Place / Wildcat / Kevin Orff / LYC

PHRF Spin (Sprit)
1st Place / Harm's Way / Andy Wescoat / GBCA
2nd Place / Water Nymph / Brian Tulloch / HYC
3rd Place Second Star / J.D. Hill / LYC/GBCA

PHRF Non-Spin
1st Place / Good News / Ashley Walker / LYC
2nd Place / Sweet Peril / Thomas Reiser / LYC
3rd Place / Tanura / Tim Vogelsang / LYC/GBCA

Cruising Spin
1st Firewater Walter Horton GBCA
2nd Leopard Robert Hunkins LYC/GBCA
3rd Stellar of Course Ronald Eddleman GBCA/TMCA

Cruising Non-Spin Classic Canvas
1st Place / High Cotton / Kent Morrison
2nd Place / Seahorse / Michael Clark
3rd Place / Hobgloblin / Marty Pedowicz / LYC

Bay Cup II is the second in the two-race series, the first of which was sailed in the spring. Overall trophies for the Bay Cup series were given out at the post-race party Saturday evening in the LYC Ballroom. 2018 Bay Cup Series winners were: 

Infinity / Uzi Ozeri

PHRF Spin (Non-Sprit)
Sodalis III / Jim Demarest

PHRF Spin (Sprit)
Second Star / J.D. Hill

PHRF Non-Spin
Good News / Ash Walker  

Cruising Classic Canvas
Seahorse      / Michael Clark

Full race results can be found under the Regattas section of the LYC website at

Robert Greaney provided the entertainment at Saturday night's dinner and awards party while guests socialized and savored great food and tasty drinks.

The sponsors making the 2018 series a success were City of Seabrook,, OJ’s Marine, Little Yacht Sales, True North Marine, Texas Coast Yachts, Blackburn Marine, Upstream Brokers, Davis Marine Electronics, Kevin Severance Insurance, Sea Lake Yachts, Mariner Magazine, Bay Area Houston Magazine and Southwest Spirits.

Bay Cup proceeds benefit Bay Access, a non-profit charitable organization fostering amateur racing and sailing on Galveston Bay.

Upcoming races that LYC will be hosting include the Heald Bank Regatta Aug. 17-18, the J-Fest Southwest Regatta October 13-14 and the 32nd Annual Harvest Moon Regatta Oct. 25-27.

BayTran Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.