Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Higher Education
ACC PTK Elects Officers for 2018-19
News Release
Thursday, September 06, 2018

The Mu Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Alvin Community College recently elected officers for the 2018-19 school year.

The new officers are: President Ian Thompson; Vice President of Leadership Amanda Smith; Vice President of Scholarship Garret Page; Vice President of Service Melanie Walker; Vice President of Communication & Fellowship Dustin Page; Dual Credit Liaison Hannah Noel.

“We are looking forward to a great year. Our events will show a big involvement for our college and the community," Thompson said.

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges.  Members follow four hallmarks, including scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.  To be eligible for Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 college credit hours at ACC and maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

More than 4,000 ACC students have been inducted into Phi Theta Kappa since the ACC Mu Upsilon Chapter was created in 1963.

Students in Phi Theta Kappa will participate in community projects and research projects during their time in the organization.

Photo cutline: ACC Phi Theta Kappa recently elected officers for the 2018-19 year. From left: advisor Brian Berger, Vice President-Service Melanie Walker, Vice President-Leadership Amanda Smith, Vice President-Scholarship Garret Page, Vice President-Communications & Fellowship Dustin Page, President Ian Thompson, and Advisor Keith Vyvial. Not pictured is Dual Credit Liaison Hannah Noel.

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.