Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Houston Maritime Museum
Harris County
Press Release
Wednesday, December 05, 2018

Michael PianaHouston, TX – David Leslie, executive director of the Rothko Chapel, announced that Michael Piana was elected by the Rothko Chapel Board of Directors to serve as board chair.  Piana replaces Christopher Rothko, PhD, who had served in that role for the past five years. Piana is the president of Mrp Resources. Additional officers elected include Ernesto Maldonado, secretary; and Dolly H. Brenneman, treasurer.  Maldonado is an architect and founding partner of GSMA. Brenneman is the president of Brenneman Consulting.    

New members joining the board are Melanie Lawson, an award-winning journalist who currently serves as the co-anchor of Live at 5 and Eyewitness News for Channel 13 KTRK-TV, and Chao-Chiung (C.C.) Lee, AIA, the founder and president of Houston-based STOA International Architects, Inc.   

Other board members continuing their service to the Rothko Chapel are Maconda O’Connor Abinader, architect and community volunteer; Sanford L. Dow, founding partner of Dow, Golub, Remels & Gilbreath PLLC; Kristina Van Dyke Fort,  research assistant professor at the Honors College, University of Houston;  Ludmila R. Golovine,  founder and president/CEO of MasterWord Services Inc.; Karen Rosa,  vice president and executive director of the Altman Foundation; Michele J. Sabino, Ed.D., development consultant at Harris County Drug Court Foundation; Joyce Salhoot, member of Houston Hospice Board of Directors and retired health care administrator; Aziz Saibani, M.D., neurologist associated with Baylor College of Medicine; Carol Mancusi-Ungaro Steen, associate director for Conservation and Research, Whitney Museum of American Art, and founding director of the Center for the Technical Study of Modern Art, Harvard Art Museum; and honorary director Frances T. Farenthold.   

About Rothko Chapel

The Rothko Chapel is open to the public every day of the year at no charge. It is a contemplative space that successfully interconnects art, spirituality, and compassionate action through a broad array of free public programs.  Founded by Houston philanthropists Dominique and John de Menil, the Chapel was dedicated in 1971 as an intimate sanctuary.  Today it stands as a monument to art, spirituality, and human rights. As an independent non-profit, non-governmental organization, the Chapel depends on contributions from foundations and individuals to support its mission of creating a space for contemplation and dialogue on important issues.

BayTran HomeTown Bank
Remembering Jim Guidry Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership M3 Global Medical Missions

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.