Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
H-GAC Transportation Policy Council
by John David Suayan with photos courtesy H-GAC
Monday, January 28, 2019

The Houston-Galveston Area Council Transportation Policy Council on Friday voted unanimously to approve its 2019 leadership slate of officers.

The officer team consists of:

  • Chairman – Commissioner Ken Clark, Galveston County
  • 1st Vice Chair – Council Member David Robinson, City of Houston
  • 2nd Vice Chair – Commissioner Justin Beckendorff, Waller County
  • Secretary – Honorable Tom Reid, City of Pearland
  • Past Chair – Judge Matt Sebesta, Brazoria County

Prior to the vote, members Carrin F. Patman and Amanda Edwards lauded the new officers while calling on the policy council to consider a more diverse group in the future. Listen (35:01)

“It’s very important that we consider a variety of factors including not only just the geographic diversity but diversity in terms of gender and race,” said Edwards, a Houston City Council Member.

Patman, the Chair of the Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County Board of Directors, suggested that each policy council member “make a private commitment that this will be the last slate we have that does not reflect the full demographic and gender diversity of the region.”

Harris County Judge Lina Hidalgo expressed her interest in reviewing the policy council by-laws.

The policy council also voted unanimously to approve an at-large position for Other Transportation Interests, 16 at-large positions on the Technical Advisory Committee, and 23 at-large positions on the Transportation Safety Committee. Item Summary

The policy council voted unanimously to approve an amendment to the 2040 Regional Transportation Plan and the 2019 -2022 Transportation Improvement Program to add High Speed Rail.

The policy council voted unanimously to recognize outgoing members Matt Sebesta and Janiece Longoria for their service to the body. Longoria was absent from the meeting because of a family emergency.

All other agenda items were approved unanimously. Agenda

The policy council achieved a quorum of 25 members. Attendance

Dannenbaum Engineering BayTran
Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.