Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

GRCC Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Guidry News Forum
May 4 Election Candidate Filing Continues
by Garrett Bryce
Friday, February 08, 2019

Candidate filing continues through February 15 for the May 4 General Election, as the ballot begins to fill in for city and school board races in Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris and Jefferson counties.

In Brazoria County, incumbents have filed for two of the three city council seats with terms expiring in May. Glen Starkey has filed for District D, and Joel Castro for At-Large Position 2. Both incumbents are unchallenged currently.

In Pearland, three candidates have filed for Position 1 on the city council, Derrell Isenberg, Luke Orlando and Jimi Amos. J. David Little has filed for re-election for Position 5 and Dr. Sheila Pope has filed as a challenger. Trent Perez has filed for another term in Position 6 and currently is unchallenged.

In Fort Bend County, the four district seats for the city council have terms expiring in May.

In Galveston County, Bayou Vista has three positions on the city council with terms expiring. No filings have been received to date.

Clear Lake Shores incumbent council members Christy Lyons and Jan Bailey have filed for another term. The position of mayor, currently held by Mike McNamara, has yet to receive filings.

Dickinson has three positions with terms ending in May. Incumbent Bruce Henderson and Kevin D. Edmonds have filed for Position 2, and incumbents Wally Deats and William King, III have filed for another term in Positions 4 and 6, respectively. The city will also hold a special election seeking voter re-authorization of a one-quarter of one percent sales tax for street maintenance.

Council Member Robert Griffon has filed for re-election to Position 4 in Friendswood, and incumbent Carl Gustafson and Brent Erenwert have filed for Position 6.

Monica Cantrell has filed for mayor of Hitchcock. Dorothy Childress, who currently holds the position, has not yet filed. Other filings in Hitchcock include incumbent Fard Abdullah for Commissioner District 1, and Christopher Armacost and Brandon Faulkner have filed for District 2, which is currently held by Cantrell.

Jamaica Beach Mayor Steve Spicer has filed for re-election, and David Welch and Clay Morris have filed to run for two at-large council positions. Welch is an incumbent.

Kemah Mayor Carl Joiner has filed for another term, as has incumbent Council Member for Position 2 Wanda Zimmer. Position 4, held by Robin Collins, also expires in May.

League City has no council positions expiring in May, but will hold special elections for two bond referendums and an increase of the city's sales tax.

Santa Fe has three seats with terms expiring in May. Claude Hoke, IV, Paul Shelley and Scot Rice have filed for Position 1. Incumbents Ronald “Bubba” Jannett and Bill Pittman have filed for re-election in Positions 4 and 5, respectively.

College of the Mainland has three seats on the board of trustees expiring in May. Dr. Verna Henson has filed for Position 1, Dawn King for Position 4, and William McGarvey for Position 6.

Incumbents Dr. Laura DuPont and Ann Hammond have filed for re-election to the Clear Creek Independent School District Board of Trustees and are currently unopposed.

Incumbents Tony Combs and Dr. Shirley Price have filed for the Hitchcock Independent School District Board of Trustees.

Incumbents have also filed for the Texas City Independent School District Board of Trustees. Melba Anderson, Mable Pratt and Bryan Thompson have each filed to extend their terms beyond May.

In Harris County, Deer Park Mayor Jerry Mouton has filed for re-election. Incumbent Sherry Garrison and James Warren Stokes have filed for Position 1, and incumbents Thane Harrison and Tommy Ginn have also filed for another term in Positions 2 and 3, respectively.

In El Lago, incumbent Jeff Tave and Shawn Findley have filed for Position 1, and incumbent Jeff Michalak has filed for Position 2. Mayor John Skelton's term also expires in May.

La Porte has three positions for the May ballot, all of which have contests currently. Incumbent John Zemanek and Brandon Lunsford have filed for At-Large A, Marc Clarke and Thomas Garza have announced runs for District 4 and incumbent Jay Martin and Chuck Rosa have filed for District 5.

In Morgan's Point, Richard Helmle and Mike Fowler have filed for re-election for their positions on city council. Position 3, currently held by Craig Bland, has a term ending in May also.

In Nassau Bay, incumbents Don Matter and John Mahon have filed for their seats on city council, and Bob Warters has filed for Position 5.

Pasadena's eight city council seats are up for election in May. (Correct) Incumbent Felipe Villarreal and Ornaldo Ybarra have filed for District A, Bruce Leamon has filed for another term in District B, and has drawn Steve Halvorson and Bianca Sanchez as challengers. District C incument Don Harrison and District D Council Member Sammy Casados have filed for re-election and are not currently challenged. Cody Ray Wheeler is seeking to remain beyond May for District E. Joseph “JT” Thomas has also filed for District E. Phil Cayten has filed for re-election to District F and is yet to draw a challenger. Incumbent Cary Bass and Mary Vargas have filed for District G and incumbent Thomas Schoenbein and Tori Laird have filed for District H.

Three candidates have filed for three at-large positions on Shoreacres City Council. Incumbents Felicia Ramos and Jerome McKown have filed to date, as has Bo Bunker.

Taylor Lake Village Mayor Jon Keeney is seeking another term. John Powell has filed for Position 2 on the Taylor Lake Village City Council, and Einar Goerland has filed for re-election to Position 3.

Webster has three positions on the city council expiring in May. To date, incumbents Larry Tosto, Beverly Gaines and Edward Lapeyre have filed for re-election and are unchallenged.

All of Beaumont's city council has positions expiring in May.

Incumbent Becky Ames and Joshua Yates and Geary Siniguar, Jr. have filed for mayor. William R. Sam, Sr., W.L. Pate, Jr., Eric Anthony “Tony” Renfro, Louis “Randy” Feldschau and Thomas “TJ” Rodman, Jr. have filed for two at-large positions on the council, which are currently held by Sam and Pate. Incumbent Virginia Jordan and Taylor Neild and Taheruddin “Taher” Quraishi have filed for Ward 1. Incumbent Michael Getz and Jefferson Fisher have filed for Ward 2, and incumbents Audwin Samuel and Robin Mouton have filed for Wards 3 and 4, respectively.

Port Arthur Mayor Derrick Freeman has filed for another term, and Willie “Bae” Lewis, Jr., Thurman “Bill” Bartie, Charles “Chuck” Vincent and Lowra Harrison have filed as challengers.

Filing continues through the end of day February 15. For updates and a complete list of races, visit the Election Page.

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.